MRCOG 2024 Exam; A Breakdown of Examination Format

A large number of medical students consider the MRCOG 2024 Examination as a gateway to their dream career in obstetrics and gynecology. If you are one among them, Then it’s time for you to boost your jouney with more dedication. As the MRCOG 2024 examinations approaches, here we will provide you a comprehensive overview on MRCOG 2024 exam pattern, helping you to take a step ahead.

The Membership of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (MRCOG) is globally accepted as the golden standard in obstetrics and gynaecology. MRCOG examination comprises three main parts :- MRCOG Part 1, MRCOG Part 2 and MRCOG Part 3 .

MRCOG Part 1 Exam

The MRCOG Part 1 exam covers the basic and applied sciences relevant to the clinical practice of Obstetrics & Gynaecology. The exam consists of two papers, which include both multiple-choice questions (MCQs) and extended matching questions (EMQs).

SBA Paper 1

Duration: 2.5 hours (150 minutes)
Number of questions: 100 SBAs

Lunch break (approximately 1 hour)

SBA Paper 2

Duration: 2.5 hours (150 minutes)
Number of questions: 100 SBAs

MRCOG Part 2 Exam

The MRCOG Part 2 exam assesses aspirants’ knowledge in clinical scenarios. This written examination is a two-paper exam, consisting of MCQs, EMQs, and short-answer questions (SAQs).

Paper 1

Duration: 3 hours (180 minutes)
Number of questions: 50 SBAs, 50 EMQs

Paper 2

Duration: 3 hours (180 minutes)
Number of questions: 50 SBAs, 50 EMQs

There is no separate pass mark for the SBA and EMQ questions. Instead, there is a combined pass mark, which is determined by standard-setting for each examination. The SBA component contributes to 40% of the overall mark, and the EMQ component contributes to 60% of the overall mark.

MRCOG Part 3 exam

The MRCOG Part 3 is a clinical assessment that evaluates aspirant’s clinical skills, communication, and professionalism. Passing this final exam leads to the award of designatory letters MRCOG and membership in the College. The exam is conducted in an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) format and consists of 14 stations, including history-taking, physical examination, communication skills, and decision-making scenarios.

Each of the MRCOG Part 3 modules is assessed in the context of five domains:

• Information gathering
• Communication with patients and their relatives
• Patient safety
• Communication with colleagues
• Applied clinical knowledge

Are you ready to take your medical career to the next level with the upcoming MRCOG 2024 Examination? Then, it’s essential for you to stay updated with the latest information and guidelines provided by the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists.

Not yet started your MRCOG 2024 preparation? Connect with our team to know about MRCOG Courses.